Oregon

In 1998, Oregon passed ballot measure 67 decriminalizing the use of marijuana and authorizing marijuana for medicinal use. First-time offenders, who do not have a medical marijuana authorization, found in possession of less than one ounce of marijuana receive no jail time. Instead, this misdemeanor offense is punishable by a fine of $500-$1000. Offenders may opt for probation rather than a trial, and upon successful completion of probation, the offender’s criminal record does not reflect the charge. Oregon takes the sale, cultivation and manufacture of marijuana very seriously. The sale of marijuana, in any amount, carries severe punishment as a Class B felony with up to 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $100,000. Gifting more than 5 grams of marijuana could land the offender in prison for one year with a $5000 fine. Cultivating marijuana is a felony unless the cultivator possesses a physician’s recommendation and is registered with the state, both mandatory. In fact, knowingly visiting or even staying at a place where marijuana is used, stored or sold is considered a misdemeanor and carries a $5000 fine and up to one year in jail. Patients who possess a signed physician’s recommendation and are registered with the state may possess up to six mature marijuana plants and 24 ounces of usable marijuana. Caregivers, who distribute marijuana to authorized patients, may also cultivate up to six mature plants but must also register with the state.